Indian Cuisine Misconceptions!

I am genuinely amazed at how many misconceptions there are about Indian cuisine!  Indian food although very popular is also very misunderstood!  If you make the attempt to learn how to cook Indian cuisine, you will get the benefit of healthy, fresh and even medicinal food.  A great place to start is one of my own recipes Aloo Gobi which is very mainstream and not very hard.  Any of the dhaals or subzis (lentils or vegetable dishes) would be a great place to start.IMG_7104

So what are these misconceptions?  I have listed the top three below and I bet you may have thought a few were true yourself!

Indian Cuisine is Too Hard or Too Labour Intensive!

Not so!  There are so many dishes that are hard to make and way too time consuming, but there are just as many that are super easy as well!  Find a recipe for okra or green peppers or even tandoori chicken which is super fast as well as fairly easy!

All Indian Food is Mouth Blistering Hot!

Definitely a huge myth, Indians do indeed use many spices, but the heat usually comes from chilies and the simple answer is use as many chilies or as less as you find comfortable!  Next!

Indian Food is Greasy and Hard to Digest!

The food that is made in most Indian homes is usually made with fresh ingredients and with very little oil or dairy.  In fact a little known fact is that one of the most healthy oils is in fact Ghee, which is clarified butter.  Modern science has proven what Indians have known for centuries, that Ghee has many health benefits in addition to being very tasty.

Many Indian spices and fresh ingredients have Ayurvedic healing properties, such as turmeric, garam masala, ginger, garlic and you may be surprised to learn, chilies!

So instead of being intimidated by hearsay, decide for yourself and try out a simple dish, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

nom nom nom


8 thoughts on “Indian Cuisine Misconceptions!

  1. I absolutely love Indian food!
    I agree with all of these misconceptions, especially the one about it being labour intensive. Tandoori chicken is really easy to cook, along with butter chicken.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. just to add another misconception… I’ve had people say to me that “curry smells bad”… and i say… “Don’t knock it until you try it! You’ll crave it every time you smell it after that…” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I find that’s so true about Italian food, too. I think these kinds of stereotypes develop when popular restaurants take unfortunate shortcuts resulting in food that’s bland or just unbalanced.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Sonia,

    In the Philippines we have our own version of curry, I guess its inspired from the traditional Indian curry recipe but suited for the Filipino taste bud. A few ingredients include chicken, ginger, and coconut milk. When my dad cooks curry I finish the dish to the last morsel, its so tasty and creamy!

    Great post!
    Suzette

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loooove Indian food! There’s a fabulous Indian buffet near my office in Markham called “India’s Taste.” You can get a take out box of vegetarian Indian food with naan for $9 or one with meat for $10, and it’s always enough for 2 meals for me. I usually go once a week but sometimes twice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment